Proactive Disclosure

Canadian International Trade Tribunal
Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

This report represents the final Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences provided by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal), as effective November 1, 2014, the Tribunal’s resources were transferred to the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC).

Through the coming into force of the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada Act, on November 1, 2014, the Government of Canada consolidated the provision of support services to eleven administrative tribunals, including the Tribunal, into the ATSSC as a single, integrated service provider.  As a result, the Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures report information, including support services provided to the Tribunal, after November 1, 2014 will be provided by the ATSSC.

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the Tribunal’s expenditures for the first seven months of the 2014-15 fiscal year and the total annual expenditures for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2014.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government’s priorities.

The majority of travel and hospitality expenditures of the Tribunal were incurred in the conduct of the various areas of its mandate, notably in the context of hearings held outside Ottawa, Ontario, plant visits, International technical exchanges and expenses related to witnesses called to appear before the Tribunal. Members and staff also attended conferences and made presentations to various international, legal and academic bodies.

The Tribunal was established in December 1988 under the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act. It is an independent, investigative and quasi-judicial decision-making body that reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance. The authority of the Tribunal Chairperson and Members are provided pursuant to numerous statutes, but principally the Special Measures Act, the Customs Act and the Excise Tax Act. The Tribunal’s office is located in Ottawa, where the majority of hearings are held; however, the Tribunal can hold hearings anywhere the Chairperson and Members deem necessary.

Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Tribunal

Expenditure Category

Expenditures for the period ending Oct 31, 2014
(a)

Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014
(b)

Variance (1)
(a-b)

(in thousands of dollars)

Travel – Public Servants

33

71

(38)

Travel – Non Public Servants

-

3

(3)

Total Travel

33

74

(41)

Hospitality

6

5

1

Conference Fees

1

24

(23)

TOTAL

40

103

(63)

Significant Variances Compared With the Previous Fiscal Year

Variances are mainly due to 2014-15 expenditures representing only seven months, as resources of the Tribunal were transferred to ATSSC on November 1, 2014. Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences after November 1, 2014 will be provided in the Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences for the ATSSC.

Divulgation proactive

Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences

Ce rapport représente le dernier rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences qui sera fourni par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal), puisqu’en date du 1er novembre 2014, les ressources du Tribunal ont été transférées au Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs (SCDATA).

Avec l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur le service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs le 1er novembre 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a consolidé la prestation des services de soutien de onze tribunaux administratifs incluant le Tribunal sous le SCDATA, fournisseur unique des services intégrés. Par conséquent, l’information sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements, incluant les services offerts au Tribunal après le 1er novembre 2014, sera présentée par le SCDATA.

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Tribunal pour les sept premier mois de l’exercice 2014-2015 et les dépenses annuelles totales pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l’appui du mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

La plupart des dépenses de voyages et d’accueil du Tribunal ont été engagées dans l’accomplissement des différents domaines de son mandat, surtout dans le contexte d’audiences tenues à l’extérieur d’Ottawa (Ontario), de visites d’usines, d’échanges techniques internationaux et de dépenses liées à l’appel de témoins à comparaître devant le Tribunal. Les membres et le personnel ont également assisté à des conférences et ont fait des exposés devant divers groupes internationaux, juridiques et académiques.

Le Tribunal a été constitué en décembre 1988 en vertu de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur. Le Tribunal est un organisme décisionnel quasi judiciaire et indépendant qui relève du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Finances. Les pouvoirs du Président et des membres du Tribunal découlent de nombreuses lois, mais principalement de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, de la Loi sur les douanes et de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise. Les bureaux du Tribunal sont situés à Ottawa, où la majorité des audiences sont tenues; toutefois, le Tribunal peut tenir des audiences à tout endroit jugé nécessaire par le Président et les membres

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Tribunal

Catégorie de dépense

Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 Octobre 2014
(a)

Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014
(b)

Écart (1)
(a-b)

(en milliers de dollars)

Voyages – Fonctionnaires

33

71

(38)

Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires

-

3

(3)

Total des dépenses de voyages

33

74

(41)

Accueil

6

5

1

Frais de participation aux conférences

1

24

(23)

TOTAL

40

103

(63)

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Les écarts sont principalement dus aux dépenses représentant seulement sept mois d’opération compte tenu du fait que les ressources du Tribunal ont été transférées au SCDATA en date du 1er novembre 2014. L’information sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences après le 1er novembre 2014 sera présentée dans le rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du SCDATA.