Proactive Disclosure

Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2014. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government's priorities.

The majority of travel and hospitality expenditures of the Tribunal were incurred in the conduct of the various areas of its mandate, notably in the context of hearings held outside Ottawa, Ontario, plant visits, International technical exchanges and expenses related to witnesses called to appear before the Tribunal. Members and staff also attended conferences and made presentations to various international, legal and academic bodies.

The Tribunal was established in December 1988 under the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act. It is an independent, investigative and quasi-judicial decision-making body that reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance. The authority of the Tribunal Chairperson and Members are provided pursuant to numerous statutes, but principally the Special Measures Act, the Customs Act and the Excise Tax Act. The Tribunal’s office is located in Ottawa, where the majority of hearings are held; however, the Tribunal can hold hearings anywhere the Chairperson and Members deem necessary.

Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Tribunal:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014
(a)
Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013
(b)
Variance (1) (a-b)
(a-b)

(in thousands of dollars)

Travel – Public Servants 71 16 55
Travel – Non Public Servants 3 2 1
Total Travel 74 18 56
Hospitality 5 5 0
Conference Fees 24 7 17
TOTAL 103 30 73

Significant Variances Compared With the Previous Fiscal Year

Travel

Public servants: Compared to fiscal year 2012-2013, the Tribunal’s travel expenditures by Public Servants increased by $55,000 mainly due to technical exchanges with international antidumping authorities, a visit to the United States International Trade Commission and an increase in conference-related travel.

Non-public servants: Compared to fiscal year 2012-2013, there was no significant change in the Tribunal’s travel expenditures by non-public servants.

Hospitality

Compared to fiscal year 2012-2013, there was no change in the Tribunal’s hospitality expenditures.

Conference Fees

Compared to fiscal year 2012-2013, the Tribunal’s conference fee expenditures increased by $17,000 mainly due to an increase in the number of employees attending conferences.

Divulgation proactive

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l’appui du mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

La plupart des dépenses de voyages et d’accueil du Tribunal ont été engagées dans l’accomplissement des différents domaines de son mandat, surtout dans le contexte d’audiences tenues à l’extérieur d’Ottawa (Ontario), de visites d’usines, d’échanges techniques internationaux et de dépenses liées à l’appel de témoins à comparaître devant le Tribunal. Les membres et le personnel ont également assisté à des conférences et ont fait des exposés devant divers groupes internationaux, juridiques et académiques.

Le Tribunal a été constitué en décembre 1988 en vertu de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur. Le Tribunal est un organisme décisionnel quasi judiciaire et indépendant qui relève du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Finances. Les pouvoirs du Président et des membres du Tribunal découlent de nombreuses lois, mais principalement de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation, de la Loi sur les douanes et de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise. Les bureaux du Tribunal sont situés à Ottawa, où la majorité des audiences sont tenues; toutefois, le Tribunal peut tenir des audiences à tout endroit jugé nécessaire par le Président et les membres.

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Tribunal

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014
(a)
Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013
(b)
Écart (1)
(a-b)

(en milliers de dollars)

Voyages – Fonctionnaires 71 16 55
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 3 2 1
Total des dépenses de voyages 74 18 56
Accueil 5 5 0
Frais de participation aux conférences 24 7 17
TOTAL 103 30 73

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Voyages

Fonctionnaires: En comparaison avec l’exercice 2012-2013, les dépenses de voyages des fonctionnaires du Tribunal ont augmentées de 55 000 $ principalement en raison d’échanges techniques internationaux avec des autorités antidumping, une visite de la Commission du commerce international État-Unis et une augmentation de voyages effectués dans le but de participer à des conférences.

Non-fonctionnaires: En comparaison avec l’exercice 2012-2013, il n’y a aucun écart important à signaler au niveau des dépenses de voyages des non-fonctionnaires du Tribunal.

Accueil

Relativement à l’exercice 2012-2013 il n’y a aucun écart à signaler au niveau des dépenses d’accueil.

Frais de participation aux conférences

Relativement à l’exercice 2012-2013, le montant des frais de participation aux conférences a augmenté de 17 000 $ en raison d’une augmentation du nombre d’employés ayant assisté à des conférences.