Proactive Disclosure

Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2013.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government's priorities.

The majority of travel and hospitality expenditures of the Tribunal were incurred in the conduct of the various areas of its mandate, notably in the context of hearings held outside Ottawa, Ontario, plant visits and calling witnesses to appear before the Tribunal. Members and staff also attended conferences and made presentations to various international, legal and academic bodies.

The Tribunal was established in December 1988 under the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act. It is an independent, investigative and quasi-judicial decision-making body that reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance. The Tribunal also derives authority from the Special Measures Act, the Customs Act and the Excise Tax Act. The Tribunal's office is located in Ottawa.

Total annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013
(a)
Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012
(b)
Variance (1)
(a-b)

(in thousands of dollars)

Travel – Public Servants 16 35 (19)
Travel – Non Public Servants 2 5 (3)
Total Travel 18 40 (22)
Hospitality 5 6 (1)
Conference Fees 7 13 (6)
TOTAL 30 59 (29)

SIGNIFICANT VARIANCES COMPARED TO THE PREVIOUS FISCAL YEAR

Travel

Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, travel expenditures by the Tribunal's employees decreased mainly due to fewer hearings held outside Ottawa, as well as fewer plant visits. There was also a reduction in the number of conference-related travel.

Hospitality

Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, there was no significant change in hospitality expenditures.

Conference Fees

Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, the Tribunal's conference fee expenditures decreased mainly due to a decrease in the number of employees attending conferences and to the priority given to in-house training activities.

Divulgation proactive

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et agences fédéraux appuient le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

La plupart des dépenses de voyages et d'accueil du Tribunal ont été engagées dans l'accomplissement des différents domaines de son mandat, surtout dans le contexte d'audiences tenues à l'extérieur d'Ottawa (Ontario), de visites d'usines et de l'assignation de témoins à comparaître devant le Tribunal. Les membres et le personnel ont également assisté à des conférences et ont fait des exposés devant divers groupes internationaux, juridiques et académiques.

Le Tribunal a été constitué en décembre 1988 en vertu de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur. Le Tribunal est un organisme décisionnel quasi judiciaire et indépendant qui relève du Parlement par l'entremise du ministre des Finances. Ses pouvoirs découlent aussi de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation, de la Loi sur les douanes et de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise. Les bureaux du Tribunal sont situés à Ottawa.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences sont présentées dans le sommaire qui suit :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013
(a)
Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012
(b)
Écart (1)
(a-b)

(en milliers de dollars)

Voyages – Fonctionnaires 16 35 (19)
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 2 5 (3)
Total des dépenses de voyages 18 40 (22)
Accueil 5 6 (1)
Frais de participation aux conférences 7 13 (6)
TOTAL 30 59 (29)

ÉCARTS IMPORTANTS RELATIVEMENT À L'EXERCICE PRÉCÉDENT

Voyages

Relativement à l'exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses de voyages engagées par les employés du Tribunal ont diminué surtout à cause de la diminution du nombre d'audiences à l'extérieur d'Ottawa, ainsi que du nombre de visites d'usines. Il y a eu moins de voyages effectués dans le but de participer à des conférences.

Accueil

Relativement à l'exercice 2011-2012 il n'y a aucun écart important à signaler au niveau des dépenses d'accueil.

Frais de participation aux conférences

Relativement à l'exercice 2011-2012, le montant des frais de participation aux conférences a diminué surtout à cause d'une baisse dans le nombre d'employés ayant assisté à des conférences et de la priorité accordée à la formation à l'interne.