Proactive Disclosure

Reports on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian International Trade Tribunal for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2011.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government's priorities.

The majority of travel and hospitality expenditures of the Tribunal were incurred in the conduct of its various mandates, notably in the context of hearings held outside Ottawa and in calling witnesses to appear before the Tribunal. Members and staff also attended conferences and made presentations to various international, legal, and academic bodies.

The Tribunal was established in December 1988 under the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act (CITT Act). It acts as an independent, investigative and quasi-judicial decision-making body that reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance. The Tribunal also derives authority from SIMA, the Customs Act and the Excise Tax Act. The Tribunal's office is located in Ottawa, Ontario.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel - Public Servants $88
Travel - Non-Public Servants $8
Total Travel $96
Hospitality $21
Conference Fees $22
TOTAL $139

Divulgation proactive

Rapports sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences

Comme l'exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et agences fédéraux appuient le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

La majorité des frais de voyage et des dépenses de représentation du Tribunal ont été encourus dans l'accomplissement de ses divers mandats, notamment en ce qui a trait à des audiences tenues ailleurs qu'à Ottawa et à la convocation de témoins à comparaître devant le Tribunal. Des membres et des employés ont aussi assisté à des conférences et fait des exposés à divers organismes internationaux, juridiques et académiques.

Le Tribunal a été constitué en décembre 1988 en vertu de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (Loi sur le TCCE). Le Tribunal est un organisme décisionnel quasi judiciaire et indépendant qui mène des enquêtes et relève du Parlement par l'entremise du ministre des Finances. Ses pouvoirs découlent aussi de la LMSI, de la Loi sur les douanes et de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise. Les bureaux du Tribunal sont situés à Ottawa (Ontario).

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Tribunal Canadien du commerce extérieur sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 88 $
Voyages - Non-fonctionnaires 8 $
Total des dépenses de voyages 96 $
Accueil 21 $
Frais de participation aux conférences 22 $
TOTAL 139 $