Access to Information

INFO SOURCE
SOURCES OF FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AND EMPLOYEE INFORMATION


TABLE OF CONTENTS


INTRODUCTION TO INFO SOURCE

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction to Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Background

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act (CITT Act), which established the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) and dissolved the Canadian Import Tribunal (CIT), the Tariff Board (TAR) and the Textile and Clothing Board (TCB), received Royal Assent on September 13, 1988. Sections of the CITT Act establishing the corporate structure of the Tribunal were proclaimed on September 15, 1988. Sections of the CITT Act giving the Tribunal operational responsibilities and dissolving the CIT, the TAR and the TCB came into force on December 31, 1988. Pursuant to the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) Implementation Act, on January 1, 1994, the Tribunal became Canada's bid challenge authority in respect of federal government procurement, as contemplated under Article 1017 of NAFTA. The Tribunal succeeds the Procurement Review Board of Canada in this capacity. The Tribunal also acts as the bid challenge authority under the Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT), the World Trade Organization Agreement on Government Procurement (AGP), the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA), the Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (CPFTA), the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement and the Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement (CPANFTA).

The Tribunal is an administrative tribunal operating within Canada's trade remedy system. It is an independent quasi-judicial body that carries out its statutory responsibilities in an autonomous and impartial manner and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance. The main legislation governing the work of the Tribunal is the CITT Act, the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), the Customs Act, the Excise Tax Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Regulations, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations and the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules (Rules).

Responsibilities

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal provides Canadian and international businesses with access to fair, transparent and timely processes for the investigation of trade remedy cases and complaints concerning federal government procurement and for the adjudication of appeals on customs and excise matters. At the request of the Government, the Tribunal provides advice in tariff, trade, commercial and economic matters.

The Tribunal has multiple responsibilities with a wide-ranging mandate. For more information, please see the Tribunal's mandate.

The Tribunal's mission is to render sound, transparent and timely decisions in trade, customs and procurement cases for Canadian and international businesses and to provide the Government with sound, transparent and timely advice in tariff, trade, commercial and economic matters.

For the organizational structure of the Tribunal, please see organization.

INSTITUTIONAL FUNCTIONS, PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES

The Tribunal engages in two program activities which refer to the legislative area of its mandate. Its' advisory role is in respect of general economic inquiries and references, and its quasi-judicial role is in respect of the adjudication of trade cases. A third program activity, Internal Services, is responsible for corporate accountabilities and operational support.

ADJUDICATION OF TRADE CASES – QUASI-JUDICIAL ROLE

In its quasi-judicial role, the Tribunal enquires into trade-related complaints (i.e. dumping, subsidizing and safeguards) and complaints regarding federal government procurement. The Tribunal also hears appeals from decisions of the Minister of National Revenue and the Canada Border Services Agency.

The Tribunal's adjudicative mandate is to provide a fair, timely and transparent trade remedy system for Canada’s business sector, thereby preserving confidence in the Canadian market, for the benefit of Canadian businesses and consumers. The Tribunal acts as an independent, quasi-judicial decision-making body. It operates within Canada’s trade remedy system to apply existing laws and trade agreements that seek to address unfair competition in the domestic market or provide emergency protection against imported goods that are seen to cause injury to a domestic industry. The Tribunal also hears appeals from decisions of the Minister of National Revenue under Excise Tax Act and of the CBSA under the Customs Act and the SIMA. It has also been designated as the bid challenge authority under NAFTA, the AIT, the AGP, the CCFTA, the CPFTA , the CCOFTA , and the CPANFTA in the federal government procurement process.

In its quasi-judicial role, the Tribunal's adjudication of trade cases is comprised of the following:

GENERAL ECONOMIC INQUIRIES AND REFERENCES - ADVISORY ROLE

In its advisory role, the Tribunal's caseload is comprised of three types of cases. First, the Tribunal plays an advisory role, when requested by the Government, to recommend measures to alleviate injury to domestic producers pursuant to a safeguard inquiry.

Second, the Government may also periodically direct the Tribunal to inquire into general economic, trade or tariff matters. In such inquiries, the Tribunal has the power to conduct research, receive submissions, hold hearings and report with recommendations, as required, to the Government or the Minister of Finance.

Third, the Tribunal has received a standing reference from the Minister of Finance to investigate requests from domestic textile producers for tariff (import tax) relief on imported textile inputs for use in their manufacturing operations and to make recommendations to the Minister of Finance that would maximize the net economic benefit to Canada.

In its advisory role, the Tribunal's mandate is comprised of the following:

INTERNAL SERVICES

Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; Acquisition Services; and Travel and Other Administrative Services. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Acquisitions

Acquisition Services involve activities undertaken to acquire a good or service to fulfill a properly completed request (including a complete and accurate definition of requirements and certification that funds are available) until entering into or amending a contract.

Communications Services

Communications Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that Government of Canada communications are effectively managed, well-coordinated and responsive to the diverse information needs of the public. The communications management function ensures that the public - internal or external - receives government information, and that the views and concerns of the public are taken into account in the planning, management and evaluation of policies, programs, services and initiatives.

Financial Management

Financial Management Services involve activities undertaken to ensure the prudent use of public resources, including planning, budgeting, accounting, reporting, control and oversight, analysis, decision support and advice, and financial systems.

Human Resource Management

Human Resources Management Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, allocating resources among services and processes, as well as activities relating to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

Information Management

Information Management Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective information management to support program and service delivery; foster informed decision making; facilitate accountability, transparency, and collaboration; and preserve and ensure access to information and records for the benefit of present and future generations.

Information Technology

Information Technology Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective use of information technology to support government priorities and program delivery, to increase productivity, and to enhance services to the public.

Legal Services

Legal Services involve activities undertaken to enable government departments and agencies to pursue policy, program and service delivery priorities and objectives within a legally sound framework.

Management and Oversight Services

Management and Oversight Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, and allocating resources among services and processes, as well as those activities related to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

Materiel

Materiel Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that materiel can be managed by departments in a sustainable and financially responsible manner that supports the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Real Property

Real Property Services involve activities undertaken to ensure real property is managed in a sustainable and financially responsible manner, throughout its life cycle, to support the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Travel and Other Administrative Services

Travel and Other Administrative Services include Government of Canada (GC) travel services, as well as those other internal services that do not smoothly fit with any of the internal services categories.

CLASSES OF PERSONAL INFORMATION

General Correspondence and Enquiries

Personal information in this class relates to routine correspondence received in the course of the Tribunal's activities, such as requests for general information and unsolicited correspondence not relating to an active file. The personal information normally includes the name and address, or e-mail address, of the enquirer. This information is not retrievable by personal name or other personal identifier and is generally not used for administrative purposes. Retention of this form of personal information is controlled by the records schedules of the general subject files in which the information is stored.

MANUALS

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

The Government of Canada encourages the release of information through informal requests. You may wish to consult the Tribunal's completed Access to Information requests. To make an informal request or for additional information about the activities of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, please visit Contact Us. If you would like information on how to submit a formal request to receive Tribunal records pursuant to the Access to Information Act or to seek access to your own personal information under the Privacy Act, please see the contact information here.

READING ROOM

In accordance with the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act, an area on the premises will be made available should you wish to review materials on site. The address is:

15th Floor
333 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario

Accès à l'information

INFO SOURCE
SOURCES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DU GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL ET SUR LES FONCTIONNAIRES FÉDÉRAUX


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


INTRODUCTION À INFO SOURCE

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l’information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions gouvernementales visées par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Info Source donne aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents visant à leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions gouvernementales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à les aider à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

L’Introduction à Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et un index d’institutions visées par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont disponibles auprès de l’administration centrale.

En vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre désigné) est chargé de l’administration de la loi à l’échelle du gouvernement.

RENSEIGNEMENTS GÉNÉRAUX

Contexte

La Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (Loi sur TCCE), qui a constitué le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) et a dissous le Tribunal canadien des importations (TCI), la Commission du tarif (CT) et la Commission du textile et du vêtement (CTV), a reçu la sanction royale le 13 septembre 1988. Les articles de la Loi sur le TCCE qui ont établi la structure organisationnelle du Tribunal ont été proclamés le 15 septembre 1988. Les articles de la Loi sur le TCCE qui confèrent au Tribunal ses responsabilités opérationnelles et dissolvent le TCI, la CT et la CTV sont entrés en vigueur le 31 décembre 1988. Conformément à la Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA), le Tribunal est devenu, le 1er janvier 1994, l'organisme canadien chargé d'examiner les contestations des offres au regard des marchés publics fédéraux, tel qu'il est prévu à l'article 1017 de l'ALÉNA. Le Tribunal succède, en ce qui a trait à ces fonctions, à la Commission de révision des marchés publics du Canada. De plus, le Tribunal agit à titre d’autorité en matière de contestation des offres aux termes de l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur (ACI), l’Accord sur les marchés publics de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (AMP), l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili (ALÉCC), l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou (ALÉCP), l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie et l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Panama (ALÉCPA).

Le Tribunal est un tribunal administratif qui exerce ses activités dans le cadre des mécanismes de recours commerciaux du Canada. Organisme quasi judiciaire et indépendant, il s’acquitte de ses responsabilités législatives de façon impartiale et autonome et relève du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Finances. Les principaux documents législatifs qui régissent les travaux du Tribunal sont la Loi sur le TCCE, la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), la Loi sur les douanes, la Loi sur la taxe d’accise, le Règlement sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics et les Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (Règles).

Responsabilités

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur fournit aux entreprises canadiennes et internationales l’accès à des procédures d’enquête justes, transparentes et efficaces sur les causes liées aux recours commerciaux et les plaintes concernant les marchés publics fédéraux ainsi que sur les appels en matière de douanes et d’accise. À la demande du gouvernement, le Tribunal fournit des conseils sur des questions tarifaires, commerciales et économiques.

Le Tribunal a plusieurs responsabilités en vertu du son mandat élargi. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le mandat du Tribunal.

Le Tribunal a pour mission de rendre en temps opportun des décisions judicieuses et transparentes dans les causes sur le commerce, les douanes et les marchés publics pour les entreprises canadiennes et internationales et de fournir en temps opportun au gouvernement des conseils judicieux et transparents sur des questions tarifaires, commerciales et économiques.

Pour la structure organisationnelle du Tribunal, veuillez voir organisation.

FONCTIONS, PROGRAMMES ET ACTIVITÉS DE L’INSTITUTION

Le Tribunal a deux activités de programme qui sont liées au mandat qui lui est conféré en vertu de la loi. Son rôle consultatif concerne les enquêtes sur des questions économiques et d’ordre général et les saisines, et son rôle quasi judiciaire concerne le règlement des causes commerciales. Une troisième activité de programme, Services internes, concerne la responsabilisation ministériel et l’appui opérationnel.

RÈGLEMENT DES DOSSIERS COMMERCIAUX - RÔLE QUASI JUDICIAIRE

Dans l'exercice de ce rôle, le Tribunal mène des enquêtes sur les plaintes liées au commerce (c.-à-d. dumping, subventionnement et mesures de sauvegarde) et sur des plaintes concernant la passation des marchés publics du gouvernement fédéral. Le Tribunal entend les appels à l'égard des décisions du Ministre du Revenu national et de l’Agences des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC).

Le Tribunal a comme mandat de faire en sorte que le secteur privé du Canada bénéficie de mécanismes de recours commerciaux équitables, opportuns et transparents, contribuant ainsi à maintenir la confiance dans le marché canadien, dans l’intérêt des entreprises et des consommateurs canadiens. Le Tribunal agit comme organisme décisionnel quasi judiciaire et autonome. Avec comme cadre les mécanismes de recours commerciaux canadiens, le Tribunal applique les lois et accords commerciaux en vigueur qui visent à remédier à la concurrence déloyale sur le marché national ou à fournir une protection d’urgence contre des marchandises importées perçues comme portant atteinte à une branche de production nationale. Le Tribunal entend aussi les appels à l’égard des décisions rendues par le Ministre du Revenu nationalen vertu de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise et par l'Agences des services frontaliers du Canada(ASFC) en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes et de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI). Le Tribunal a aussi été désigné comme organisme chargé des contestations des offres en vertu de l’ALÉNA, de l’ACI, de l’AMP, de l’ALÉCC, de l’ALÉCP, de l’ALÉCCO et de l’ALÉCPA.

Dans son rôle quasi judiciaire, le règlement des causes commerciales devant le Tribunal comprend ce qui suit :

ENQUÊTES SUR DES QUESTIONS ÉCONOMIQUES GÉNÉRALES ET SAISINES - RÔLE CONSULTATIF

Dans l'exercice de ce rôle, le Tribunal assume une charge de travail qui comprend trois types de causes. Premièrement, le Tribunal joue un rôle consultatif lorsque le gouvernement lui demande de recommander des mesures, à la suite d'une enquête de sauvegarde, pour atténuer les dommages subis par les producteurs nationaux.

Deuxièmement, le gouvernement peut également donner pour instruction au Tribunal d'enquêter sur des questions économiques, commerciales ou tarifaires d'ordre général. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, le Tribunal fait des recherches, reçoit des exposés, tient des audiences et présente au gouvernement ou au ministre des Finances un rapport accompagné, au besoin, de recommandations.

Troisièmement, le Tribunal a reçu du ministre des Finances le mandat permanent d'enquêter sur les demandes présentées par des producteurs nationaux souhaitant bénéficier d'un allégement tarifaire sur l'importation d'intrants textiles dont ils se servent dans le cadre de leurs activités de production et de faire des recommandations au ministre des Finances afin de maximiser les retombées économiques pour le Canada.

Dans son rôle consultatif, le mandat du Tribunal comprend les éléments suivants :

SERVICES INTERNES

Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Acquisitions

Activités mises en œuvre dans de but de se procurer les biens et les services requis pour répondre à une demande dûment remplie (y compris une définition complète et précise des exigences et la garantie que les fonds sont disponibles), et ce, jusqu'à la passation ou à la modification d'un marché.

Services des communications

Activités mises en œuvre afin de veiller à ce que les communications du gouvernement du Canada soient gérées efficacement, bien coordonnées et répondent aux divers besoins d'information du public. La fonction de gestion des communications assure la diffusion de renseignements gouvernementaux au public interne et externe ainsi que la prise en considération de ses préoccupations et intérêts dans la planification, la gestion et l'évaluation des politiques, des programmes, des services et des initiatives.

Gestion financière

Activités visant à assurer l'utilisation responsable des ressources publiques comme la planification, la gestion budgétaire, la comptabilité, la production de rapports, le contrôle et la surveillance, l'analyse, les conseils et le soutien au processus décisionnel, ainsi que les systèmes financiers.

Gestion des ressources humaines

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans applicables.

Gestion de l’information

Activités visant à assurer une gestion efficiente et efficace de l'information à l'appui de la prestation de programme et de services, à faciliter la prise de décisions éclairées, à faciliter la reddition des comptes, la transparence et la collaboration, ainsi qu'à conserver l'information et les documents pour le bénéfice de la présente génération et des générations futures en veillant à ce qu'ils demeurent accessibles.

Technologie de l’information

Activités dont le but est d'assurer l'utilisation efficiente et efficace de la technologie de l'information, à l'appui des priorités gouvernementales et de la mise en œuvre des programmes afin d'accroître la productivité et d'améliorer les services offerts au public.

Services juridiques

Activités permettant aux ministères et organismes de réaliser les priorités et d'atteindre les objectifs associés à leurs politiques, programmes et services dans un cadre juridique approprié.

Services de gestion et de surveillance

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans qui s'appliquent.

Matériel

Activités visant à assurer, de la part des ministères, une gestion du matériel durable et responsable sur le plan financier afin de soutenir l'exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Biens immobiliers

Activités ayant pour objet d'assurer une gestion des biens immobiliers durable et responsable sur le plan financier, tout au long de leur cycle de vie, afin de soutenir l'exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services de voyage et autres services administratifs

Ces services comprennent les services de voyages du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi que les autres services internes qui ne correspondent à aucune autre catégorie de services internes.

CATÉGORIES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Correspondance et demandes générales

Les renseignements personnels appartenant à cette classe se rapportent à la correspondance courante reçue dans le cadre des activités du Tribunal telle que les demandes de renseignements généraux et la correspondance non sollicitée qui n'a pas trait à un dossier actif. Les renseignements personnels comprennent habituellement le nom et l'adresse, ou l’adresse courriel, du demandeur. Ces renseignements ne peuvent être repérés au moyen d'un nom ou d'un autre identificateur personnel et ne sont généralement pas utilisés à des fins administratives. La conservation de ces renseignements est régie par les calendriers de conservation des dossiers-matières généraux dans lesquels ils sont classés.

MANUELS

RENSEIGNEMENTS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

Le gouvernement du Canada préconise la divulgation d'information au moyen de demandes informelles. Vous pouvez consulter les demandes d’accès à l’information complétées du Tribunal. Pour présenter une demande informelle ou pour obtenir plus amples renseignements sur les activités du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, Contactez-nous. Pour savoir comment soumettre une demande officielle afin de recevoir des documents du Tribunal en application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou pour pour consulter les renseignements personnels vous concernant en application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez consulter coordonnés.

SALLE DE LECTURE

Conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, un endroit sera mis à votre disposition dans les locaux si vous souhaitez consulter des documents sur place, à l’adresse :

15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)